Prof. Jahed Nazeem

Contact details:

+27 21 9593053





Dr. Nuralli Mohamed

Contact details:

+27 21 9593047





Prof. Fanelwa Ngece Ajayi

Prof Ngece-Ajayi is an Associate Professor of Physical Chemistry at the Chemistry Department, University of the Western Cape (UWC). She is also one of the lead researchers at SensorLab, an electrochemistry research unit also based at UWC. At SensorLab she specialises in research that involves the development of drug metabolism sensors using various green method synthesised metallic nanomaterials while also discovering a range of biological applications for them.

Her research findings are found in her publications in the form of research articles and book chapters. She has strong research collaborations locally and internationally and her research expertise are often requested at local and international journal review panels, conference organising committees and funding award panels.

Her education advocacy work can be seen through her non-profit organisation AmaQawe ngeMfundo which aims to provide on-site science, technology, engineering and mathematics (STEM) experiments for learners in marginalised communities. She is a member the South African Chemical Institute (SACI), the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE) and a member of the South African Young Academy of Sciences (SAYAS).

She is also the recipient of the 2018 South Africa’s Inspiring Fifty Women in STEM award, the 2019 UWC DVC Community Engagement Award, the 2019 prestigious National Research Foundation (NRF) Excellence Emerging Leader/Early Career Researcher Awardees. She also holds fellowships with the AIMS Next Einstein Forum, Future Africa the NRF’s Future Professors Programme.

Contact details:

Email: | Tel: +27 21 9593049

Dr. Natasha Ross

Dr. Natasha Ross (Ph.D) is an industrious scientist and dynamic research group leader within the SensorLab. Dr. Ross is a Lecturer in the Department of Chemistry where she lectures general and physical chemistry at undergraduate level and Statistical thermodynamics and Nanoscience within the Honours programme.

Dr. Ross research niche is the design and construction of new generation nanostructured materials to advance renewable energy storage, conversion and photovoltaic systems. The battery and photovoltaic cell research is aimed at replacing expensive materials, with smart nanostructured materials, to reduce the cost and improve effiencies to make electricity accessible and affordable.

Dr Ross also enjoys community engagement having participated at the Soapbox Science South Africa Inauguration, Science Learning Centre for Africa (SLCA) annual Women in Mathematics’ Conferences as well as various national SAASTA events. Dr. Ross also served as President of the Young South African Chemical Institute (Young SACI) organization n 2013.

Dr. Ross is highly motivated with several publications in the areas of nano-electrochemistry and renewable energy storage in top electrochemistry journals. Additional research interests include biosensors, photocatalysis and environmental sensors. She is also an active member of ElectrochemSA, the Organization of Women in Science (OWSD) as well as the South African Young Academy of Science (SAYAS).

Contact details:

Email: | Tel: +27 21 959 4037

Dr. Chinwe Ikpo

Dr Chinwe Oluchi Ikpo received her PhD degree in Chemistry from the University of the Western Cape, South Africa. She obtained her Master’s and Bachelor’s degrees in Chemistry from the University of Lagos and the Federal University of Technology Owerri, Nigeria, respectively. Her research interest is on the design and fabrication of nanomaterials for electrochemical energy storage devices.

She supervises PhDs/Masters students and teaches Quantum and Nanochemistry at the University of the Western Cape where she has been lecturing since 2013. Dr Ikpo is a University of Michigan African Presidential Scholar and a recipient of the Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons (OPCW) Internship Award.

Contact details

Email: | Tel: +27 21 959 2613

Dr. Keagan Pokpas

Dr. Keagan Pokpas is a lecturer and researcher of nano-electrochemistry, sensor technologies and analytical chemistry within the Department of Chemistry, UWC and an active member of the SensorLab research group.

Having completed his MSc in Nanochemistry prior to obtaining a PhD in electroanalytical chemistry from UWC with a specialization in paper-based electroanalytical devices, Dr. Pokpas’ passion for meeting the needs of communities within the African continent have led him to focus his research interests on low-cost environmental electrochemical sensors for resource-limited settings. In particular, he is involved in alternative electrode materials research and paper-based diagnostics and microfluidic systems relying conductive carbon-based and metallic nanomaterials in conjunction with electroactive detection of priority environmental pollutants.

Dr. Pokpas is an executive committee member of the South African Young Academy of Science (SAYAS), member of the international society of electrochemistry (ISE), south African chemical institute (SACI), African Younger Chemists Network (AYCN) and ElectrochemSA. He has participated in numerous international and local research collaborations, supervised a number of postgraduate research projects, has an excellent publication record in peer- reviewed journal publications, among others.

He was awarded the 2018 African German Network for Excellence in Science (AGNES) young research award.

Contact details:

Email: | Tel:+27 21 959 4038

Dr. Candice Franke

Dr Candice Franke is a researcher in the field of electrochemical biosensors and chemical sensors with the incorporation of smart nanomaterials. She has a keen interest in the development of phenotype biosensors for the optimisation of disease treatment and has a focus in the field of small angle x-ray scattering (SAXS) for nanomaterial characterisation.

She is currently expanding her research interests to delve deeper into the incorporation of both nanomaterials and microfluidics to enhance the sensitivity and selectivity of electrochemical sensor technology. She is currently an nGAP (next generation of academics programme) lecturer in the department of Chemistry at UWC. Dr Franke is also a recipient of the prestigious L’Oreal UNESCO For Women in Science Sub-Saharan fellowship in 2014.

Contact details:

Email: | Tel: +27 21 959 4058

Dr. Francis Ntumba Muya

Dr Muya is a brilliant scientist with a PhD in electro-analytical chemistry and specialized in electrochemistry, analytical chemistry, nanomaterials and the development of point of care sensor systems in biomedical applications.

His research focuses on the fundamental design of sensors (biosensor, immunosesnor, chemical sensor) and synthesis of polymeric derivative materials which serves as membrane materials for remediation of emerging pollutants, as well as transducer in the constructions of biosensor systems. In this area the emphasis is to couple the electrochemical techniques to the benefits of spectroscopy (FTIR and Raman) and microscopy (AFM and SEM) for the evaluation of emerging pollutants in waste water.

His research output has been published in top electrochemical diagnostic journals including Water Science and Technology, Electrochemical Acta, Membrane and Technology and Journal of Nanoscience.


Contact details:

Email: | Tel: +27 21 959 2254